sugar never tasted so good

09.18.03 @ 12:05 a.m.

*idiot grin* I'm back from the concert.

Looking at my CDs, these are the songs that I remember being played. I started out trying to memorize the playlist but soon gave up. This is by no means complete. For one thing, there were several I didn't recognize.
-Black Math
-Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
-I Think I Smell A Rat
-Hotel Yorba
-In the Cold, Cold Night (I have recently found my dad thought this was "In the Cocoa Night")
-I'm Finding It Harder To Be A Gentleman
-The Union Forever
-We're Going To Be Friends
-Wasting My Time
-Sugar Never Tasted So Good
-You're Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl) (He sang a verse of this really fast, sans accompaniment, and it was cute.)
-Hello Operator
-Death Letter
-Seven Nation Army (He ended the pre-encore set with this and it was FANTASTIC. I was also highly impressed with their use of a strobe light behind Meg. The spot stayed on Jack but all you could see of Meg was her strobe lit silhouette. It was... oh, I'm beyond words in my admiration for that band.)
-I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother's Heart
-Ball and Biscuit (possibly my least favorite White Stripes song, with The Union Forever. And of course, he had to start the encore with this and continue with Union....)
-The Hardest Button To Button

I also bought a shirt, a red one. I'm trying to download an image of it, but my browser, as usual, is being a complete and utter bastard to me. And three buttons. I bought a set of three buttons. For band merchandise, their stuff isn't too expensive. Of course, as the five minute warning for the performance rings through the lobby, I get stuck right behind the girl buying over $200 worth of merchandise. And of course, the girl selling it has no calculator of any sort and is doing the addition in her head. They haggle a little over what the total is and I'm ready to strangle the purple-haired customer. SHE had been bitching a little about the slow service, but ugh. To be stuck behind her. I asked for my shirt and the button set and was done in less than 30 seconds.

This is the design on the shirt:

Jack was wearing the outfit he's wearing in the new(?) video for "The Hardest Button to Button." Meg, too, I think. Meg wasn't wearing shoes while she drummed, which I found interesting but it wasn't unexpected. Oh, and just after "Black Math," I think, Jack very brightly said, "Hi, I'm Jack and this is my big sister Meg." I didn't think they did that one anymore. I mean, everyone knows that it's not true in the biological sense. They might feel that way and that's cool. I was just kind of startled.

Of course, it was a good hour and a half before we even saw the White Stripes. The opener was the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and I can't say that I care for them. The lead singer is very energetic and I think the most charitable thing I can say about her is that she carries the spirit of punk. Her rolling around and draping herself over all sorts of stage decoration made me think of Iggy Pop. She also did Daltrey-ish posing with the microphone, though she didn't try to lasso about with it. Andrew was just taken with her. He thought she was great. He kept, like, giggling on the way down the street as we left the venue (I could hardly hear him--my auditory world was fuzz and ringing. I think I'm better now but I'm not sure) and talking about things she did, like sticking the microphone in her mouth and whacking the microphones together. The girls behind us were big fans and danced like crazy during their set. Unfortunately, this meant they managed to hit Andrew in the back of the head several times. (Andrew had charmingly done his hair in a faux-hawk--using gel to manipulate his hair into a sort of a mohawk without cutting any of his hair, you know?) Anyway, I didn't care for the music though the show part of it was entertaining enough. And, if distance didn't mislead me, the guitarist is kind of hot. They played for about an hour, which seemed insanely long. But then, when we bought the tickets the Soledad Brothers were also supposed to open for them, so maybe they were compensating.

There were a series of Betty Boop cartoons, which are noteworthy for their complete insanity and I found them to be quite risque for their time period. They're just insane and surreal and quite frankly, if the girls behind me said "This is fucking weird!" one more time I was prepared to disembowel them with one of my new pins. I had been struggling in the dark to put the elephant one on before the intermission. Which is not to say they ruined it for us, they were just the necessary annoyance for any concert. When the fifth Betty Boop or so started, I got up to go to the bathroom and told Andrew that would guarentee the show would start up. And it did. I came back about half a minute into Black Math and said to Andrew, "I told you so." He was concerned that I didn't get to use the bathroom because I was convinced the ladies room would be crowded. Twasn't. Not until I was leaving and the last call to get to seats had been announced.

Oh my lord. I'm watching the Tonight show and the similarities between Prof. Saunders and Eddie Izzard are astonishing. The funny thing is he (Izzard) was just telling a story that started with "Well, you know I was wearing makeup..." and suddenly Saunders' whole "I wish it was acceptible for men to wear makeup because I think I have pretty eyes and would like to accent that...." The hair (except for color) and accent are quite similar, too. Oh, how I miss having Saunders as a prof. He was brilliance personified.

Let me end with this little blurb from Willamette Week on the White Stripes:

"Who cares about them as people? They're not people anymore. They're stars. But that doesn't change the fact that anyone who loves music should love their music."

And I do.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top