land of 1,000 dances

08.21.03 @ 8:53 p.m.

Wow. Days without an entry. So unusual for me. I mean, I usually at least ramble inanely for a while.

The weird thing is that my social life lately has kind of bloomed. It's almost weird. Somehow I've been magically embraced by the grand Martha-Andrew friendship, which doesn't sound like much, but they're just about everybody's favorite people. Me, I'm thrilled. I like going to Andrew's, what with his crazy dad always around and trying to make me eat salmon he just caught that day, then we all watch DVDs and lie around on his couches.

How 'bout doing this in chronological order?

On Monday I got taken off Grounds Crew at work and I've been assigned to an elementary school to help finish the cleaning before the school year starts. All week I've basically been sent around to wash any windows I can find and am frequently told to 'take [my] time, no hurry.' Also to keep myself busy. I think that my new supervisor, an amusing older British man named Keith, would rather not spend time thinking of things for me to do, so I wash windows at a painfully slow pace.

Speaking of Keith, the first day I met him I started formulating crazy theories. I can't quite place where in England his accent is from (as if I were that good), but it strikes me as being a little Daltrey-ish. So then I started thinking about Keith Moon and decided that Moon faked his death and started working matainance in an Oregon elementary school. You know, 'cause the rock and roll lifestyle was really dragging him down.

Yeah. That was totally stupid.

Anyway. Yesterday was Andrew's birthday, or at least his birthday party. I took a half day off work and we all went to Wunderland arcade. That was actually much cooler than I expected. The arcade charges $2.50 admission but all the games run on nickels. Mostly, Martha and I played skeeball and dropped nickels in very gambling-esque games, especially one that pushes nickels off the edge when you drop your own nickel in right. The only thing that makes it not gambling is that you get prize tickets instead of money. The other cool thing was that Martha, Amy, and I charmed the guys at the prize table just by being ourselves so much that they gave us a bunch of free stuff. And one of them showed us a rather lame (and yet amusing in it's lameness) magic trick. The people who went were me, Andrew, Martha, Amy, Aaron (of Moni and Aaron fame... I think I explained this a long, long time ago), and Andrew's friend Miranda. Aaron and Moni together are pretty much unbearable, or at least they were when they were a couple at the end of high school, but despite his ADD, Aaron's alone is a pretty cool guy to hang out with. We (sans Miranda) all went to Andrew's and watched the Rocky Horror Picture Show for the ten gazillionth time (always at Andrew's, too--his dad likes to watch that with us) and ate homemade won tons. (Pork and salmon.) Rosie came to Andrew's.... Rosie dropped out of high school, and that's where I know her from, but she went to elementary school with Martha and Andrew. Now, I never expect people to really remember who I am when we only have a trifling acquaintance, but I guess Rosie and I have slightly more than a trifling acquaintance. She told me she saw me at Fred Meyer the other day but I didn't she her because she was 'watching from afar.' She amuses me.

Aaron, Andrew, Amy (so many A names among our friends), Martha, and I played the Game of Life for an excessively long time while listening to music. I was the only one who chose not to go to college but with bad luck ended up with a low salary card. And I ended up with a mega expensive house, so I was in deep debt until I managed to steal Aaron's salary card, which was the highest in the game. (Isn't THIS exciting??) We also started watching Chicago, but that's when I realized I wasn't going to be able to stay awake and called my mom to come pick me up. Getting up for work this morning was hellish. It may well be tomorrow if I don't get into the shower like, now. And damnit, I just really want to sleep.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top