god save the queen

05.21.03 @ 9:04 p.m.

I'm at home and I'm fairly happy about that. Except that I haven't written any questions for my interview tomorrow, ah ha ha ha... I'm trying not to write in the "leave out the pronoun" style of Bridget Jones but it's hard because I'm halfway through Bridget Jones: Edge of Reason. And I am incredibly relived to see more Austen references rather than a straight up sequelling. I flipped through the middle (nasty habit of mine) and found a scene that was very obviously Louisa Musgrove's fall from the Cobb. Persuasion! I loved Persuasion. It's probably my second favorite. I first got an inkling when I noticed one of the characters was named Giles Benwick. High drama, as should be expected from a Bridget Jones novel. Sometimes Bridget seems a little too clutzy and has a little too much doe-eyed dependence on men, which I don't think would be so obvious without all the rant and storm feminism from Shazzer or the endless self help books. But without those, she'd not be Bridget.

By the way, I prefer the book to the movie, or at least the end. And the "People named Mr. Darcy should not act snooty at parties" line. And *sigh* Colin...

So, uh. Well, there was the odd feeling of being on an Amtrak bus with a bunch of elderly people and listening to a Sex Pistols CD. That was fun. Then I listened to Empty Glass, which is what I'm listening to now. Heehee, no one is home, which means LOUD MUSIC and me singing along for better or worse. But I should go now and check the voicemail. Someone left a message when I was online earlier and I never checked.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top