punk

02.25.03 @ 10:04 a.m.

I am and am not surprised by how much I'm enjoying our unit on Punk in Rock History. (Also, my keyboard is pissing me off no end because I managed to spill Martinelli's in it two days ago and half the keys are stiff and sticky. Damn. I'm going to have to have this professionally cleaned.)

(I'm listening to Who Are You by, uh, The Who because it was written as a reaction to punk, which Pete found a little threatening, I understand. Ooh, if I didn't have other things to do today, I'd get down my big Who book and see what it has to say about this song. Anyway.)

So I rather like the Sex Pistols. I'm thinking that one day I'm going to have to go to the listening room in the Knight Library and just listen to the Velvet Underground and Nico and Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols. I also kind of remember reading somewhere that they covered the Who's Substitute, which sounds interesting.

I did NOT care for Patti Smith and John Cale's cover of My Generation. I guess I just have an affinity for stuttering Mods after watching Quadrophenia several times, and the song has really developed a Jimmy Cooper-ness to it that I think is taken away by that version. I also think that something is definately lost by "Things they do look awful cold/I hope I die before I get old" being replaced by "Things they do are fucking shit/Hope I die because I'm it." No.

I wonder if this is honest music appreciation or snobbish purism? It could be a little of both.

And sometimes I have to wonder if I don't like the Velvet Underground so much as I like Nico. I like her voice. I've long liked the Ramones' Judy is a Punk... So maybe I'll be embarking on another stage in my musical life, though that does not mean that I'll be leaving anything else behind that I haven't already tossed over for the Who. I've hardly listened to Tommy James since September, but that's part protest of the fact that his concert kind of sucked. The Turtles and the Grassroots have kind of fallen by the wayside lately, too. I'm moving away from pop, which is interesting. My dad likes to tell me that deep down "[I'm] a rocker," meaning I like things that make me want to move, that are heavier than real pop, I guess. Things deep and driven and primal. I honestly don't know what to make of my tastes and my sometimes ignorance of major trends in music. Like punk. Outside of what I've learned today, I know very little about it. I like it more than I expected, but I also half expected to be surprised and find I do like it because I like the Who, who were somewhat influential.

Goddamn keyboard. I've got to put some finishing touches on an Italian thing I did a horrible job on (and which I didn't turn in yesterday because I slept through two out of my three classes, naughty girl. I'm becoming a huge slacker this term.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top