dreams and gossip

02.09.03 @ 10:49 p.m.

In my last entry, I forgot to talk about the dream I had Saturday morning.

I was dreaming that Pete Townshend was coming to visit my house. It was a big honor, but he just wanted to visit and hang out, like he was an old family friend. (Pete never actually made an appearance in my dream, he was just always anticipated.) I had this little handheld thing that I could IM with, and I was talking to Slavik through the whole dream, about how eager I was to meet Pete and how I was preparing for his arrival. Because I was using this handheld thing and not a computer, it took me a long time to spell out words and sentences and he was teasing me about how slow I was. The most impressive part of this dream is the group that assembled to welcome Pete. Vincent D'Onofrio and Kathryn Erbe (the detective duo from Law and Order: Criminal Intent) were there, and so, oddly enough, was Sir Ian McKellan. Vincent said something to me but I don't remember what. When I told my dad about this dream he teased that it should have been the detectives from SVU waiting for Townshend. I didn't think that was terribly funny, though it's not as though I lack a sense of humor about what happened to Townshend, despite the fact that I really like him as an artist. I thought it was fucking hilarious when the Onion had a headline that said "Pete Townshend Can't Explain" (a pun on one of the Who's first hits, "I Can't Explain.")

I watched the Simpsons episode with the Who on it this weekend. There was a joke I hadn't gotten before, but I don't remember what it is now. Possibly something Roger said.

I also hear there's trouble in paradise, if you consider my dorm to be paradise, in which case I think you're severely mentally ill, or a horny teenage boy. :) Anyway, I guess a couple of pairs of roommates are having conflicts. The highly reliable resource that is rumor tells me that Nora and Jeanne might have forged the roommate thing and Nora's old roommate is not thrilled. Also, my former classmate and across the hall neighbor Allie is supposedly a huge drunk and frequently can't get herself home without assitance of one of the hall, but she doesn't call her roommate. I don't know. She's a sorority girl, and I've seen her drunk quite a bit. It's sad, really.

I shouldn't gossip, especially in as public a place as this, but then, I don't get any hits off the university system except my own. (I used to have it so it ignored my hits, but for some reason it won't do that any more.) I wish I could live on my own, but student loans pay for dorms, not apartments. I think I'm financially fucked if I try to go anywhere else. And they're cutting days in my mom's school district, so my parents will be strapped, too. I really need to work at getting a job, though I am clueless. I've lead a far too insulated life, I think. I can't drive, I've never worked, how am I supposed to survive completely on my own? Hell, I'm afraid of anything more urban than Eugene.

Ohh, I'm a coward and talking about it is just going to depress me, so I think I'll escape to a Terry Pratchett novel. Specifically, Soul Music. I love Susan Sto Helit.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top