so much of tragedy

02.01.03 @ 1:52 p.m.

Well, I just found out that the space shuttle broke up on reentry and seven astronauts are presumed dead (and how could you survive something like that?)... I found out on Monkeeland of all places, but then, I don't really listen to the radio or watch TV on weekend afternoons. When I went out this morning to take photos of Deady (DeeDee) hall, the original university building, I wondered why the flags were at half-staff. I reasoned that it was probably because a former city councilman died last night.

I'm watching NBC news (and listening to a CD at the same time, I shouldn't try to multiprocess so much)... and I hear that people are alerady trying to sell pieces of "wreckage" as souveniers. People are fucking vultures. People try to profit off this, they tried to profit off 9/11. I can't stress enough how disgusted I was with all the patriotic merchandise and commemerative medalions and all that other bullshit that was sold after that.

I'm so horrified, watching news animations of the break up and radar echos of the debris fall, bits of wreckage... It's so terrible.

I just called my parents and perhaps it was frivolous, it wasn't really a good reason to call when I just called last night, but I felt like, I don't know, touching base with another human being.

Will this be a grand historical event, or am I assuming too much? 9/11 can't but go into the history books, but will this? It's a great loss to the space program, but not a massive loss of human life. Will this be like Challenger? Didn't 12 die in Challenger? Only 7 died here, it doesn't seem like much.

Perhaps I'm over analytical.

Goodbye, Columbia.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top