tommyfication

01.17.03 @ 10:36 p.m.

I'm back in Portland for the weekend, and believe you me, the Amtrak buses are generally nicer than Greyhound, but the seats aren't quite as comfortable.

I'm all Tommy-fied, because the package my aunt sent me for Christmas and my birthday contained a documentary about the 25th anniversary of Tommy. It was so cool, and happily, it showed bits of the Broadway production, notably 1921. This is notable because I finally completely understand the story of what happened when Captain Walker came back (the very fact that Captain Walker did come back, even) and killed the lover. It's a completion of the revelation I had when I realized that it was trauma that forced Tommy into himself and cause the block that made him 'deaf, dumb and blind'... Heehee, they showed the Cousin Kevin bits of the Tommy movie to make fun of all the stuff they made Roger go through, and man, I really want to see that, even more than before. However, I am ever so slightly creeped out by the idea of Jack Nicholson singing "Go To The Mirror" which is one of my favorite songs on Tommy.

Rah, I love Roger and I love Pete, but not in the "Ah, they're dreamy" way but in a "They are such badasses!" fan way. I'm so Sally Simpson. Maybe not. I saw a page of the original lyrics (with Pete's corrections) reproduced in Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere and Sally was originally hoping to marry a pop star named Danine. ("He'd marry her this Sunday" instead of "He'd talk to her this Sunday.")

Blah blah blah if you don't like the Who, but hey, I did say I'm totally Tommyfied today. I also made my dad listen to several tracks after we finished the video. Heh heh. I'm so evil. I won't listen to him if he wants me to listen to an album, but I make him sit and listen to "Christmas", "Cousin Kevin", "Sally Simpson", "1921", and "We're Not Gonna Take It" among others.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top