further ruminations on screwed up families

08.27.02 @ 8:39 p.m.

*snnnnrrrrrrk* Something in the oh-so-clear (sarcasm alert) air of Los Angeles is playing merry hell with my sinuses. Damn damn double damn. It's really annoying.

Okay, so I didn't update yesterday, I guess I'll start there. I pulled my lazy butt out of bed etc. and we went to my uncle Jim's office (he does city planning stuff for the City of Orange or some such) to meet him and my cousing Eamon (Jim's son) and we went to this winery for lunch. Mmm mmm, I had a good roast beef sandwich. Delicious. Kind of expensive, but hey, I wasn't picking up the tab (actually, that makes me more price conscious than if I were paying for it myself). Then Eamon, Eileen and I went cruising the Walk of Fame and I took pictures of several stars, including THE MONKEES. (Oh, I saw a resturant in the Hollywood and Highland shopping center that said 'Monkees Seafood', swear to the woolhat) Then Eileen, morbid woman that she is, dragged Eamon (who is 13) and I to the Hollywood Forever cemetary. We saw a lot of Jewish and Armenian graves, and two or maybe three famous ones. Chuck Jones, Douglas Fairbanks, and the people who started the L.A. Times. We came back, Eamon terrorized the birds (he's trying to train one of Eileen's parakeets), and we had In & Out Burger for dinner. Yaaay.

Today I went to Old Pasadena for lunch with Jim and Eamon sans Eileen, we went to a science museum that was a bit young for us, but eh, we had fun enough, and it was with them that we cruised Hollywood and Highland. We also dinked around outside the Chinese theater looking at the footprints. Eileen's just gone for pizza. It was nice enough spending time with them, I guess.

It occurred to me that Jim, Kelly, and Eamon make a pretty cute if shy family. They really are the epitome of Mom's side of the family. I think the crazy Irish Catholic upbringing pounded them into submission. C'est la vie. Must be where my shyness comes from. But I think I'm a bit harsher and more cynical than any of Mom's side of the family, which must be the genes I get from Dad. God only knows where I get my sense of humor from... Come to think of it, Mom's side of the family are mostly kind of screwed up people. Mom has this thing where she always has to be working on something, John is a creepy recluse of an elementary school teacher, Terry is mega-shy as is Jimmy, Sheila... is just kind of a wack job, Eileen is quiet with a dirty mind and a desire to be pals with her younger relatives, and then of course there was Kevin, who was kind of scary in a dirty bearded man in a baseball cap coming up to you in the street sayin' "Hey, can I have a dollar?" in his cigarette raspy voice. He died this year of cancer... lung I think. He got something in his throat that was a particular type of tumor that comes from drinking and smoking a lot. I dunno. None of them seem really socially well adjusted. Terry, Jimmy, and Eileen are the closest to normal in my experience. And Mom and Jim are the only ones who have kids... one a piece. Me and Eamon.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top