love is understanding, we gotta be free

05.07.02 @ 11:45 a.m.

Hey, kids! Do you know what time it is? Yes, that's right, it's time to play....

Guess who did something incredibly stupid!

So, I was running late today, as I often am. It was 9:45 and my hair wasn't dry yet, so I decided to take a few more minutes to blow dry and then take my bike to class.

Hmm hmm hmmm, blow dry, brush, oh, the song "Early Morning Blues and Greens" is playing, oh, I love this song, I love the Headquarters album, yay Monkees. Whoops, 9:50, I better get going. No time, no time, (hahaha, like the song "No Time"!) Oh, Annie has a titanium PowerBook, I'm jealous but I have my lovely iBook. Through the lounge, out the side door.....

WHERE THE HELL IS MY BIKE?!?

I wound my way up to the actual academic section of campus mentally drafting my call to Public Safety, ("It's a black and tan Huffy..." Hmm, is the front fender tan or is it the back fender?) As I get past Allen Hall, it hits me. There's my bike, parked in one of the long bike racks along 13th street where I left it, oh, probably last Friday. That's the last time I was late to class, and I only take my bike when I'm late. Well, that's not really true. I always take my bike to Shakespeare (which was today) and only when I'm late to J101 because it's a pain to either take the bike back to the halls before linguistics, find a parking space outside Straub (IMPOSSIBLE) or leave it up on the west end of campus and go back for it. It makes sense that I left it on Friday because I was all in a flutter after my alarm didn't go off (I think I know why now) and I had TWO MIDTERMS. Egad.

Why didn't my alarm go off on Friday? Well, turning on the radio revealed that my radio was set on AM instead of FM. Instead of noisy Oldies to wake me up, I got a soft hissing fuzz.

Speaking of my alarm clock, I've slipped back into a nasty habit which is really not nice to E*. It's letting the alarm go off earlier than I need and hitting snooze three times. 'Course, last year I used to do it for an hour, so that's like, 6 snooze button hits a day. I do not like to wake up. Can you tell? Lately, I've been staying up way too late anyway, which is just screwing me over. No more SNL after the Daily Show. I should be more resolved. Plus I couldn't find anything I wanted to watch last night, which meant channel surfing around the History Channel, the Discovery Channel, and watching Law & Order, which is on just about 24 hrs a day on various channels. It was cool, though. The Discovery Channel had a thing on about Mega Tsunamis, and I've had a couple of dreams where a tsunami hits. The funny thing is that they aren't really scary. I'm terrified of water, but the massive walls of water in my dreams don't really phase me. They're big and destructive, but they never hurt me. I wonder what analysis would say about THAT.

Speaking of dreams, I want to jot down for my own sake that I had a couple of low key Mike dreams again. In one he was my boyfriend but not around much for the dream. I just knew that he was supposed to be my boyfriend and I discovered that I had a cabin at a lake, and started planning a weekend away together. This is part of stranger things happening, though. The room I lived in reminded me of Paige's dorm room, which I've only seen once. This is all pretty cool, because I've had some outtasite Monkee dreams in my life. The first one I ever had was vaguely creepy, with them all being sort of semi comatose, wandering my house in a daze. Kind of like when they've been enchanted by Oraculo. The second one with the horse race was cool. There are others that ROCK, and if you are interested, go to the dreams section of my website. For those of you who aren't interested, I'll shut up now. At least about my dreams.

Slow Wave is a cool comic strip where this guy takes dreams that have been submitted to him and draws them in four panels. I love it, it's fascinating.

I'm listening to "Shades of Gray" and thinking that I *LOVE* Headquarters and that it's an album I should listen to more often, but then a Davy song comes on and I'm reminded that it's not perfect. I'm just not a fan of the Davy ballad. Too sappy, most of the time. I think the batteries in my various remotes are dying. I'm haiving a hard time switching channels and songs.

That's enough randomness for one morning. It's afternoon now, actually. So I'll go get lunch!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top